

MINUTES

Annual General Meeting

29 September 2023

Bene St Paul's Community Room, Hahndorf

1. Welcome and Apologies

Chairperson Suzanne Arbon opened the meeting at 10:10am by acknowledging the Peramangk people on whose land we meet and welcomed 57 members and guests, MP Josh Teague, Airlie Keen (representing Dan Cregan MP) and Jaime Cook (representing Rebekha Sharkie MP).

Apologies from 24 members plus Rebekha Sharkie MP, Dan Cregan MP & Mayor David Leach were noted.

Suzanne thanked *Ukulele & Song* members for providing such a warm and cheerful musical welcome, echoed by those present with appreciative applause.

2. Confirmation of the Minutes of the previous AGM

Moved by Marjolijn Haraghey and seconded Brent Danks that "the Minutes of the previous AGM held on 30th September 2022 be adopted as an accurate record of the meeting".

Carried

3. Chairperson's Annual Report

Suzanne delivered her Annual Report noting that membership now stood at 301 and recognised the many dedicated volunteer Presenters and Organisers without whom U3A could not exist

She gave a brief overview of the program of courses, presentations, excursions and lunches and recorded thanks to the Mount Barker District Council; Aldgate CFS, Stirling and Mount Barker libraries, Hillside Gardens and most especially Bene St Pauls for providing free venues for much of the program. MPs Rebekha Sharkie MP; Josh Teague MP; Dan Cregan MP and staff at Mount Barker Community Centre & The Hut in Aldgate were also acknowledged for their continuing support.

Suzanne moved that "The Chairperson's report be received", seconded Egon Shore

Carried

4. Treasurer's Report & Audited Financial Statements

Janet Hemsley delivered the audited 2022-23 Financial Report noting a balance of \$61,857.33 and that without the support of those offering rent-free venues, membership fees would need to be seriously considered. The term deposit which provides a cushion for potential venue rental increases, was rolled over in June.

Janet moved that "The 2022-23 Financial Report be received", seconded Geoff Edwards

Carried

5. Appointment of the Auditor

Janet moved "That the current Honorary Auditor, JM Fielke be reappointed for the 2023 - 24 Financial Year", seconded Marjolijn Haraghey

Carried

6. **2024 Membership Fees**

Moved Janet Hemsly, seconded Susan Huggins "That the 2024 membership fees for full members be set at \$50.00 pa, Associate Membership be \$30 pa and that half yearly membership of \$30 be available after 1st July".

Carried

Carried

7. Election of 2023/24 Committee

The Chairperson invited Gloria Wright to take over the Chair as Returning Officer for the election the new committee.

Prior to declaring all committee positions vacant Gloria thanked the outgoing committee for its work and recognised the number of volunteer hours involved to ensure the smooth running of the organisation.

Nominations were received from Suzanne Arbon, Judy Curran, Brent Danks, Geoff Edwards, David Fenwick, Janet Hemsley, Susan Huggins and Susan Smalldon. There being no further nominations, Margaret Jacob moved, Dorothy Whiterod seconded that all those nominated be elected.

Carried

8. Appointment of the Public Officer

Gloria moved that, in accordance with a Committee recommendation, Brent Danks be appointed as the new Public Officer, seconded Susan Smalldon

Carried

Suzanne thanked Gloria and resumed the Chair

9. Drawing of the Door Prizes

Heather Spratt won the door prize of free 2024 U3A AH membership and Robert Spratt won second draw of a box of chocolates

10. Presentation Mark Randell

In recognition of his 19 year's continuous and substantial commitment to U3A Adelaide Hills in various roles including those of presenter, organiser, committee member, Public Officer and 4 years as Chairperson Suzanne presented Mark with a Certificate of Appreciation and a gift basket.

11. Closure

Suzanne closed the meeting at 10:40am, thanked members for their attendance and invited everyone to stay for morning tea to be followed by presentation on the life and times of Mary Gilmore, *Old Days*, *Old Ways*, by Janet Hemsley.

Confirmed as an accurate record:

Chairperson	 Date: 10 th October 2024
Secretary	Date: 10 th October 2024